Giant vortices and coloured towers

There is a lot to be discovered in the world of swirl and spin, and last week in the lab I discovered more new effects and patterns. Here are a few below. I will be posting more to my gallery pages shortly.

And here is a link to the University’s College of Engineering, Mathematics and Physics website describing the first and second prize wins for myself and Professor Pete Vukusic respectively at IOP South West regional photography competition.

My description of the day at the IOP Branch Festival can be seen in an earlier post below, dated Sunday March 4th.

I’m getting my image framed up this week, so it should be up in the department very soon!

solid-nebula.jpg

‘Solid Nebula’

the-big-one.jpg

‘The Big One’

cosmic-vortex.jpg

‘Cosmic Vortex’

Leave a Reply

